Click to Home

Go To Search
2017 SPLOST Information
SPLOST page header image

Fayette County voters approved the 1% Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax on March 21

Fayette County voters approved the 1 cent Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax (SPLOST) at the March 21 election, and now the County and the cities will move forward with the projects listed in their respective project manuals.  Merchants will begin charging the new tax on July 1 of this year, and will remit the first month of collections to the State of Georgia in mid-August.  The state will then forward to the funds to Fayette County, so we are expecting the first revenues to arrive in Peachtree City in September of 2017.

Peachtree City has laid out a comprehensive list of projects that will be addressed over the six-year duration of the SPLOST.  The complete project manual is available below.  Note – not all projects can be completed right away, and timeline estimates for each project are included in the project detail.

Peachtree City
Projects Manual

View SPLOST Projects Manual

Countywide Projects Map

County-wide projects map - COMING SOON

SPLOST Quick Facts

What is a SPLOST?

A county-wide 1¢, voter-approved “Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax” for a specific time that local governments can use to fund specific capital projects. 

How will SPLOST funds be shared?

Fayette County and the municipalities of Brooks, Fayetteville, Peachtree City, and Tyrone share the SPLOST proceeds based on population.  An intergovernmental agreement splits the estimated tax revenue as follows:

 Fayette County
 $     64,646,530
 Peachtree City
 $     45,472,835
 $     21,098,538
 $       9,102,463
 $          693,791
$ 141,014,157

How will SPLOST funds be spent?

Each jurisdiction has identified its own list of projects to be built with the funds raised.   Peachtree City identified capital improvements that will enhance quality of life in the community.  Some of the projects, such as new path connections, have been identified for years, while others (path and street paving) will allow the City to catch up on maintenance that was deferred during the recession and return to a consistent maintenance schedule in the future.

Who pays the SPLOST?

The SPLOST is paid by everyone who shops and dines in Fayette County, no matter where they live.   This is different from a property tax, which is only paid by property owners in Fayette County.